Harvesting the Bounty

A full moon coinciding with the autumnal equinox has meant some big energy these past few days.  My days have been round and full just like that glowing orb on the horizon.  Time to harvest the bounty.

Last night we attended a performance of Pilobolus, the season opener for the Alberta Ballet.  Pilobolus is world renowned for its imaginative, athletic exploration of creative collaboration.  Described by one of its artistic directors as “a model of civil society, a metaphor for productive communal activity,” I saw it as an exemplar of organization, where risk, play, creativity and innovation are grounded in collective vision, trust, discipline, responsibility and accountability.  An embodiment of Rumi’s  “let the beauty that you love be what you do.”

An echo of which this afternoon…I’ve just returned from a design scrum where we hammered out the proposal preliminaries for a session on intentional influence.  Fast turnaround as I had just met the team a week ago.  Thrilling to be invited to work with such brilliant hearts and minds to create an elegant program with depth and relevance. 

Today our dear Lady dog had emergency surgery and is now recovering.  Appointments were shuffled to attend and hold space for her and our most competent and caring vets while they did their magic.  She’s fifteen, with a light that still burns bright and intention like a pup, even though her body can’t quite keep up. It’s bought her quality and time for which The Scientist and I are most grateful.

Emails bringing good tidings from friends and notice of that single seat for Sunday’s sold-out Slow Food dairy tour.

A video call with my parents to wish them “buon viaggio” and “see” them off on their vacation.

Lunches and suppers composed of the last of the garden-grown beans, tomatoes, and summer squash.

Receiving the gifts of grounding, healing touch and earthly wisdom from T, my massage therapist.

The simple, sweet pleasure of those dreamt about, mid-morning weekday walks with our Peggy dog.  Recovered from the rigors of running in hour-long field trials last weekend, she sought me out to enjoy the much hoped for, now arrived Indian summer.  Walking through fallen leaves, we sat by the lake, soaking up the sun and watching the geese fly overhead.  I recalled this sweet verse by Brian Andreas of Story People:

There are days
I drop words
of comfort on
myself like
falling
leaves
& remember
that it is
enough to be
taken care of
by my self.

 

About Katharine Weinmann

living and leading with courage, clarity, compassion and creativity
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harvesting the Bounty

  1. Mom says:

    A beautiful blog my darling daughter, especially the last few lines—I shall certainly be taking care of myself on this trip. All dressed, packed and waiting for air bus to arrive in about 2 hours. You will be in my thoughts often as I experience some of the sights you will perhaps see in a very few months. Love you, Mom

I'd love to read what you think about this post.

