When I say “yes”…

I meet the most amazing people…like Ingrid Celestina…my seatmate on last night’s flight to Seattle.  Isn’t that a glorious name?  Ingrid Celestina.

I was immediately reminded of the book, The Celestine Prophecy.  And I was so taken by her, our conversation, and her name, that I asked for and was given her permission to write it here, instead of my usual initializing of people’s names.

I first noticed her at the airport intently working on her computer, both of us hanging out in the departure lounge for most of the day, as our original flight had been cancelled due to the fallout from Monday’s west coast winter storm.  In the rescheduling hullabaloo, we’d both been assigned the same seat.  No worries, as I scooched over to the window, and began to browse through the in-flight magazine, relieved to finally be travelling, too tired for conversation.  That is until I became intrigued by the glyphs and website on her computer screen. Given the dark cabin and the screen’s brightness, try as I might to be courteous, I simply couldn’t ignore it. 

“Ask her what that is,” I heard myself say. 

“I don’t know…” 

“Yeah, I know it’s a short flight and you’re not crazy about chitchat, but ask her,” I egged myself on. 

“Excuse me, but would you mind telling me what that means?”  I asked as I pointed to her screen. 

And so began one of those delightfully satisfying and life enhancing conversations between kindred spirits. 

As we landed, we exchanged hugs, a book recommendation (Parker Palmer’s The Courage to Teach) for her daughter – a new teacher in Seattle, and business cards and went our separate ways…enlivened.

About Katharine Weinmann

living and leading with courage, clarity, compassion and creativity
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When I say “yes”…

  1. Terri Songbird says:

    nice post,, glad you made it home ok

    • Not yet, home, Terri.
      Just enjoyed a lovely American Thanksgivinig with my friend and new friends. Laughed til we cried….a lovely day and to seeing the waters of Puget Sound and walking the beach….nice.

I'd love to read what you think about this post.

