Si, Living the Dream

Basilicia St. Vitale

Instead of making a day trip to Verona, I chose to sleep in and “mozy” around Bologna today.  (Yesterday I went to Ravenna, on the Adriatic coast, to see beautiful, ancient mosaics.)  After a short yoga practice and simple breakfast of rice pudding with fresh fruit (I thought I’d bought vanilla yogurt!!!) and a café latte, I was intent to find the little shop I stumbled upon my first day that sold the work of local artisans, in particular “earthy,” hand-fired ceramic zodiac pendants.  And I needed to overcome my reluctance to eat out alone.  I now knew, first hand, this particular challenge of traveling solo as a woman. 

While I was enjoying cooking with fresh market ingredients in my little kitchen, I knew to do justice to my experience in Bologna – famous for so much of what we consider la cucina italianamortadello, proscuitto, tortellini, tortelone, ragu, lasagna, formaggio parmigiano, aceto balsamico, vino sangiovese – I needed to savour from the hands of an expert chef.  After a few wrong turns, I found my way to la Drogheria Della Rosa. 

From My Table

There, I was seated at a comfortable table for two, by the window.  Given I was the only patron for a while, I was at ease taking in the ambiance enhanced by opera playing in the background…a “pinch me” moment…the stuff of dreams!  Soon I began an exquisite journey of the palate into traditional Bolognese cuisine.

First, a light, fruity prosecco to prepare the palate.  Then antipasti, a platter of salume – mortadella, proscuitto and salami – with bread.  A primo of tagliatelle e ragu, and a secondo of steak with balsamic sauce, grilled potatoes and radicchio, and sautéed spinach…accompanied by a velvety sangiovese wine.  The owner, Emanuelle, welcomed everyone with wine glass in hand, and held court from my table where we conversed in a broken italiano-inglese “Provare”…we try

A couple of hours later I walked outside into the sunshine, una rosa gialla in my hand, Bolognese wine and food in my belly, and joy in my heart.  

Soon enough, I found the art store, Artigian Arte, by one of the two famous towers.  And too, an invitation to a free yoga class tonight literally steps down the street from my apartment. 

Un giorno perfetto in Bologna.

About Katharine Weinmann

living and leading with courage, clarity, compassion and creativity
This entry was posted in Italiano and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Si, Living the Dream

  1. Kerry-Ann says:

    Dear Katharine,
    Your words have truly created dream like pictures in my head. For a moment I was swepped away to a time and place that I have never been but only in my imagination. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!

    Thank you for sharing all you experiences. I love every moment!

I'd love to read what you think about this post.

