Ravenna e Verona

This really is a lovely time of year to be traveling.  It’s sunny and refreshingly cool; there are no crowds beyond the locals, so trains are quiet; and getting around town and into sites is a breeze.   Many times I have only myself and the ancient energies of place for company.  Granted, windowsills, doorways and le piazze are devoid of brightly-coloured flowers, a signature European look, so the overall picture is a bit austere.

I made two daytrips from Bologna…the first to the city Ravenna, UNESCO designated World Heritage site because of its collection of 5th and 6th century mosaics, “the best in the west,” according to Rick Steves (whose Italy 2011 I thankfully downloaded on my Kindle e-reader.)  On the train to Ravenna I met two women from Portland, Oregon, here to run a marathon in Verona.  The first English speakers since I left Germany, so we shared a bit of our experiences.  After hearing how I’d planned this trip, alone, first time in Italy, no not a hotel but staying in an apartment I’d found online (and hit the jackpot for its perfect location), learning about train travel, speaking as much Italian as I could and being understood for it…the one called me “intrepid.”  Hmmmmm…. I liked that, though I acknowledged, too, the moments when I thought, “what am I doing here???” of which there have been a few and it’s only week one! 

Ravenna…following Rick’s directions, I found my way to the Tourist Information office (never as straight forward as I imagine), got a map and then set off to experience the most incredible, breath-taking, vivid, glowing depictions of the sacred, composed of pieces of glass and stone, most no bigger than my thumb nail, and many half the size of my little finger nail. From the UNESCO designation:

 “The site is of outstanding universal value being of remarkable significance by virtue of the supreme artistry of the mosaic that the monuments contain, and also because of the crucial evidence that they provide of artistic and religious relationships and contacts at an important period of European cultural history.”

See for yourself…   

Basilica S. Vitale

 

Basilica S. Vitale

Mausoleo di Galla Placidia

 

Friday I set out for Verona, the mythical home of Romeo and Juliet.  Yes, “charming,” as the women from Portland had described. Through the medieval gate to Piazza Bra and immediately ahead to the Roman Theatre used every summer for its famous operatic performances.  The Torre dei Lamberti, Juliet’s balcony, Dante’s piazza (though his tomb is in Ravenna), the Duomo and churches, and the weekly market set in Piazza Erbe where I leaned against the statue, in the sunshine, enjoying a foccacio formaggio and a Austrian-influenced doughnut (a carb day!)  And a wonderful river, La Fiume Adige. A charming day.  A new adventure.

Dante in La Piazza dei Signori

 

From Torre dei Lamberti

Sulla Ponte Pietra attraversa La Fiume Adige

Intrepid.  Si! 

On Juliet's Balcony

About Katharine Weinmann

living and leading with courage, clarity, compassion and creativity
This entry was posted in Feminine Wisdom, Italiano and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ravenna e Verona

  1. Terri Songbird says:

    my dear sister,,, after just returning back to snowy Ontario after a warm and sunny week in Puerto Vallarta,,, I reading all of your blogs with my morning Mexican coffee and am being taken away by your wanderings,,,,moved so deeply when you speak of Germany and all of Papa’s friends,, missing it myself,,, and just so proud of all that you are doing,,, a courageous traveller,,, enjoy my sister,, with much love Terri

    • Hello Dear Sister…mia sorella! Good to know you had a sunnier and warmer time of it in PV. I had a glorious time in Venice…now back with our German sister. A lovely sunny day that marks the beginning of carnival here. Love to you…

  2. heatherplett says:

    I love experiencing this vicariously through you, Katharine! Thanks for keeping us up to date on your wanderings. I have such a deep longing to do the same some day.

    • Thank you, Heather. There are moments I haven’t words for where I am and what I am doing. And this good.
      This is a different way of chronicling for me and my community of well-wishers and travellers in spirit and I thank you forr helping me get started.

  3. Kathy T says:

    How lovely to see you exploring Europe. I love your posts–your descriptions of food and place and lived expereinces, ricch in meaning. You are indeed a courageous adventurer. Blessings.

  4. Dennis Sparks says:

    Intrepid, indeed, Katharine! What a wonderful adventure!

    • Grazie, Dennis. I have moments of surreal…Am I really here? Am I really doing this…travelling, communicating, making my way the best I can, and rather well? And what is shifting inside? Yet to be…

  5. sue boo says:

    oh katharine,
    it feels like i am traveling with you. loving your rich descriptions and your photos. i so look forward to each post. and yes, intrepid indeed- i would wholeheartedly agree!
    having a blustery, frigid day here in NS, the latch on our screen door froze and locked us in the house until i put a portable heater to it. but brilliantly sunny.
    wonder what you’re doing today….
    xo sue

    • I’m enjoying my last day in Bologna, Sue. It’s a cold sunny, day and everyone is out and about. I ate my first Italian gelato, then paid a small fortune for lunch – risotto al fungi con formaggio, that truth be told, I make as well at home. I finished writing postcards…found the stamps and mail box. Tomorrow, Venice.
      Seems winter has both your home and mine in its grips still.
      Love….

I'd love to read what you think about this post.

