Is this who you really want to be?

Is this really who you want to be, sitting in front of your computer at 4:56 in the morning, playing solitare?

Is this really who you want to be, catching up on the posts of a favourite blogger, knowing the truth of which she speaks, wishing for the courage to be more of what she writes?

Is this really who you want to be, knowing there is your process painting waiting to be painted?

Is this really who you want to be, wondering where you got lost and how you’ll find your way back?

Is this really who you want to be, thinking you should be any one else, any where else, but here?

Where you want to be.  Who you want to be.  Here.  Now. 

What is it my beauty that calls to your spirit, to dust off the joy that so soon became clouded by bewilderment and grief?

To cease wanting.

To trust not knowing.

 The essence of the false promise is that we can

make ourselves and our life whatever we want.

But this will only bring disappointment…

– Ezra Bahda in Margaret Wheatley’s Perseverance

Loving What Is

About Katharine Weinmann

living and leading with courage, clarity, compassion and creativity
This entry was posted in Feminine Wisdom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is this who you really want to be?

  1. Abadi says:

    Hu (who)….another word for God…..

  2. Connie says:

    I am discovering that having less is really having more. I’ve read it, I’ve heard it, but now that I’m experiencing it, the truth is there for me.
    I stopped giving myself to everyone else. Now I’m giving to me.
    I have more time for solitary walks in the forest and then suddenly, to just standing still and breathing deep, enjoying the different smells which are so full of moisture. Just standing and watching and listening. Discovering a small brook and following it to find? it doesn’t matter, I’m on the journey of discovery. To find what … it doesn’t matter, I’m enjoying the journey and all the beauty of what mother nature offers. Along the ocean enjoying the shells that the tides have left, the beautiful little rocks that have travelled great distances. I take some home and put them in an old crystal bowl and light a tealight and enjoy them once again in the evening. I watch the bald eagle above me soar as it searches for its next meal, amazed at the span of those powerful wings, almost feeling myself up there soaring in the wind and taking in all the sights. It’s all these little things that bring me bliss.
    Keep searching my beautiful friend Katharine and I hope you find yours.
    Connie

I'd love to read what you think about this post.

