Now

It’s Labour Day, our last official day of summer.  It’s been a cold and rainy long weekend.  And even though the sun is now shining through heavy white clouds, I feel a change in the brisk and chilling winds.  A new season, a new phase of life is approaching.

True to the self-observation in my last post (can it be six weeks ago!), I’ve been in that “betwixt and between” place, so words haven’t come easy.  That, and quite simply, I’m out of practice.  I’m learning through experience the wisdom that writers write, every day.  Just as painters paint, every day.  Yogis are on the mat, every day.  Meditators sit on the cushion, every day.   And I haven’t done any of these practices, every day, for quite a while.  No excuses.  No guilt.  Simply another self-observation.

What I have been doing is reconfiguring space.  Both inside and out.  Last week’s deep learning curve into the frameworks I’ll apply as I begin contract work midweek with Barbara Thrasher and her amazing team at Work-Life Resources blew away the mental cobwebs.  And when I got home, I knew I was finally ready to sort through and toss out the files and resources I’d been storing and hadn’t used since I started my leave two years ago. 

Making space for new. 

Resurrecting and reviving a vocational mainstay – facilitation and coaching – and welcoming its shift into new contexts and applications, with new people and intentions. 

Committing my energies to pro bono offerings that speak to and deeply satisfy other heart values. 

Taking time for creative expression. 

Illuminating those slender threads with which to create this next phase, not as much “what next” as “now”. 

There will be a time, not so far from now, that you will look back on this phase of your life and instead of condemning it or beating up on it… Instead of blaming or guilting, you will feel appreciation for it, because you will understand that a renewed desire for life was born out of this time period that will bring you to physical heights that you could not have achieved without the contrast that gave birth to this desire.  — Abraham

A year ago Labour Day, I wrote a post wherein I realized that my journey of consciously moving at the pace of guidance, to sense an emerging future…to explore “what if, what now, what next?”… had only just begun.  Today it is now.

About Katharine Weinmann

living and leading with courage, clarity, compassion and creativity
This entry was posted in Facilitation, Vocation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now

  1. Terri Blair Maracle says:

    Yeaa! You are back. I will look daily for your posts 🙂

I'd love to read what you think about this post.

